Skip to content

Community Living Center Piano Bench

July 29, 2014

One of the great advantages of working as a carpenter for the Veterans hospital is sometimes you get to do fun projects that bring happiness into the lives of fellow vets!

When I was first assigned this project all I knew was the dimensions of the piano bench that were required. Prior to the build-up of the project I took a look at the different styles of piano benches and decided that I would make something a little more modern than the typical piano benches. Also I wanted to ensure that I only used reclaimed wood that I had salvaged from last years 3rd floor demolition.

Well this last week I finally got to see the piano that I am making the bench for and I am so glad that I decided to make it a little more modern. Of course after seeing the bench I altered my plans a little, but can’t wait to show you the finished project. But till then hope the pictures while help build your anticipation for whats to come! Wish me luck!

Reclaimed Oak Lumber

Reclaimed Oak Lumber

Cut to rough size

Cut to rough size

Layout

Layout

Glue-up

Glue-up

Leg install

Leg install

Seat glue-up

Seat glue-up

Square-up

Square-up

Seat install

Seat install

Hinge adjustment

Hinge adjustment

 

From → My Work

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

